It has been brought to our attention that people (both ACA members and non-members) are receiving a scam email purporting to come from ACA NSW, with an invoice attached. The subject line is "Your invoice from ACA NSW".

If you receive this email, please delete it immediately without opening.

 Scam email 2

Our Members' wage tables for Children's Services Award and Educational Services (Teachers) Award have been updated and are now available in the Members' area of the website at Awards and Wage Tables.

They were also sent to all members in the 29 June edition of Building Blocks e-newsletter.

If you don't know your member number, please contact the office on 03 9532 2017 or email Jessica Seddon.

The ACA (Australian Childcare Alliance) has published Checklists and a suite of articles to assist both service providers and families in the transition to the Child Care Subsidy. Please check them out here and at the ACA website. Please feel free to share this information with your families, as it is vital that they take steps before 2 July.

Child Care Subsidy Webinar: 29 May @ 2.30pm

If you don't feel you have the transition to the CCS under control, we recommend you register for the webinar Paul Mondo, President of ACA Victoria and ACA will present on Tuesday 29 May from 2.30pm-4.00pm.

Paul, a member of the Implementation and Transition Reference Group will share his knowledge of the most recent information about the Child Care Subsidy and its operational implications in this 90 minute webinar.

If you register but are unable to participate on the day, you will be able to access the recording but you won't be able to ask questions.

This webinar is free for ACAV members - please register directly via the link available in the members' area of the website or in the email we have sent you.

Non-members -$75 fee- please register here. Once you have registered, you will be sent a link to register on the Webinar Platform itself. Please ensure that you do this to be able to access the webinar. There is no additional fee.

If you would like additional support, or to chat with us about membership and how we can help you, please call us on 03 9532 207 or email Jessica Seddon.


The Fair Work Commission’s Minimum Wage Panel today increased all Modern Award minimum wage rates and the National Minimum Wage by 3.5%, The Panel concluded that the prevailing economic conditions were positive, and that the increase would have a noticeable positive impact on the low paid.

From the first pay period commencing on or after 1 July 2018, the National Minimum Wage will increase to $719.20 per week, or $18.93 per hour.

The ACTU pushed for a record $50 a week increase proposing to raise the minimum wage to $744.90 per week, or $19.60 per hour. In light of the increased cost of living in Australia. Employer groups generally proposed a modest increase in the vicinity of 1.9%.

What this means for ACA Members

Modern Awards

ACAV members will need to increase the Modern Award rates used for staff to comply with today's decision. For a Children’s Services employee level 3.1 the weekly wage will increase from $809.10 to $837.40, an increase of $28.30 per week. The increases will apply from the first pay period commencing on or after 1 July 2018.
ACAV will be preparing comprehensive updated wage tables reflecting the Decision, and these will be available to members in advance of the increases taking effect.

Annualised Salaries and Individual Flexibility Agreements

If you have implemented Individual Flexibility Agreements, you will need to reassess those agreements to ensure employees remain "better off overall" when compared to the newly increased Modern Award rates. Employers who use annualised salary arrangements under Modern Awards should also check the Award requirements.

Enterprise Agreements

If you have an Enterprise Agreement, you will need to ensure the minimum base rates in the EA remain at least equal to the new Modern Award rates. If not, EA rates will need to be increased to match the Modern Award. The new Modern Award rates will also form the baseline for "better off overall" testing new EAs.


Today's decision will impact most allowances as well as base rates. A number of Modern Award allowances are expressed as a percentage of the "standard rate", which is linked to the wage rate of a specific classification in the award. These allowances will therefore increase in line with the increase in the standard rate. Expense related allowances are likely to increase in line with the relevant CPI index.

For more information and detail on the decision, or assistance in assessing its impact on your business, please contact us.

ACA nationally updates and adds to its resources on the Child Care Subsidy as more information comes to hand. 2 recent articles are:

Is your ECEC service CWA-compliant?

FAMILIES: Make sure you're ready for the New Child Care Subsidy (CCS)

You will find more articles on the ACA website and we recommend you follow the ACA on Facebook as a really effective way of keeping up to date with the latest information.